Turn, turn, turn…

IMG_1102One of the things I love about the Midwest is its four distinct seasons of the year. And it seems that as one season ends I am ready for the next to begin.  As my husband and I begin a new season in our lives, we are seriously considering making a move south to be near our only grandchild.  He just turned 3 and quite frankly, seeing him 4 times a year is just not cutting it!  We want to be near him, watch him grow and discover his likes and dislikes, his gifts, talents and abilities.  We want to go to Grandparent’s Day with him, attend his soccer games and act like fools, cheering him on to victory or consoling him when defeat comes his way.  We want to watch him discover life and be an integral part of his life.  We also want to be available for our daughter and son-in-law through the busy years ahead. We want to be available for them when their busy schedules or unexpected meetings come up, that might delay or interfere with them picking him up from school. We want to be there to help as our daughter’s husband frequently travels. As a working mom, she too could often use an extra pair of hands and would appreciate the additional help.  As a young mom I remember well what it was like living so far away from family.  We want to be there to encourage, cheer and participate in their lives.

But here’s the catch…do you know how hot it is Texas? South Texas?  They  have about 8-9 months of summer!   As I stated, I love the 4 distinct seasons.  I love how one, slowly yields to the next.  Autumn is by far my favorite when life is starting to slow down and prepare for a long winter’s rest. I love the cool days when I am able to walk through the freshly fallen multi-colored leaves, hear the geese honking overhead as they make their way towards a warmer climate.  I love winter, waking up in the anticipation of a fresh blanket of snow covering the ground. I love watching the cute little black-eyed juncos hopping around our deck in search of  the seeds we throw out for them.  I love the spring time, watching for the first blades of grass peeking through the hard, brown earth, the happy jonquils dancing in the breeze, and the birds…oh my!  I love listening to the wide array of birds and other wild life outside our sliding glass doors that lead to our deck.  I sort of even like summer, well certain aspects, like barbeque, corn on the cob and watermelon…but I hate the heat.  South Texas, near the coast, is hot, humid and just plain nasty at times.  They have hurricanes.  Okay, so we, in the Midwest have tornadoes and horrendous storms, but hurricanes cause flooding.  Okay, so does melting snows and torrential rainstorms. They too, cause flooding, severe flooding.  Yet, there is this cute little blonde, curly haired little 3 year old boy who keeps beckoning us there.  Oh, he doesn’t ask us with words, but he does beckon us in a dozen little ways with his twinkling big brown eyes, winning smile and the way he says, “Hi Nana, I love you!”  So, I guess we will grin and bear it, the heat, that is. 🙂 Oh the things we do for those three little words!

So, back to turn, turn, turn…in just a little while our lives will be turned upside down as retirement is rapidly approaching and with it comes choices, fears, uncertainties, challenges AND opportunities. I am working very hard on having a positive and sunny attitude. You know, looking ahead at what new discoveries are just over the horizon.  I have come to sort of like where I am, at least it is familiar, secure, safe.  It is comforting to know you will be able to make your house payment, go out to eat on occassion, even fly to Texas to see one certain little boy and his parents, or to visit our son and his partner on the East Coast.  Okay, enough! I told you from the beginning, I would at times be painfully honest. Well, this is one of those times.  You should see my journals!  I have been writing page after page each day, pouring out my fears but also my hope in the One who has NEVER let us down, who has NEVER forsaken us, and who promised that we will NEVER have to beg for bread as His descendants (Psalm 37:25)!  I have GOT to concentrate on WHO HE IS!  And then, maybe, just maybe, He will make a way for us to get down to where the sun is often relentless and the summers endless, but where this cute and precious little boy lives with his mommy and daddy, where a big part of our hearts are already located!  If the saying, “HOME IS WHERE THE HEART IS” is true, then I shall be VERY happy! Very happy indeed!!

IMG_0331

3 thoughts on “Turn, turn, turn…

  1. I sure know what that feels like to be so far away from your grandkiddos. Our four are in Maryland and we’re in Utah. We see them twice a year. We do Google Hang Outs with them, but it’s always such a circus there with three whoopin’ boys and a new baby girl. So I know how your heart feels. It it’s meant to be, it will. Trust.

    Like

  2. Blessings. I am having surgery on Thursday to fix a torn meniscus. I hope to be back soon. That is weird! I just typed a response and it is gone. Anyway, we Facetime with our grandson at least a couple of times a week. It is a huge blessing!

    Like

Leave a comment